up in the sky

My photo
Grahamstown, Eatern Cape, South Africa
when all you have in life is yourself, the best thing to do is know who you are.... standing here, I tend to wonder things...

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

its haunting

the way we were so young,
standing on the edge of our beliefs,
feeling the soil beneath the hard concrete rooftop

the way you decorated your back
covered in stars
the way i stood
to lean down towards you
to hold your hands one last time
to look into your eyes that told me all I ever needed to know.
for eternity our words are written
for ever
we will be
the ones who just let go

the way the smoke filled up my lungs and you slowly walked away,
the way all the people below us, looked up
and we laughed until we
kissed
a kiss that will
forever
haunt me
and the stars that fill my name
and the way I needed to jump to the bottom,
just to fill up with the rest

but you held me higher
and promised the flight


 

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Its beginning to get to me...

I want something
That's purer than the water
Like we were

It's not there now

Ineloquence and anger
Are all we have

Like Saturn's rings
An icy loop around me
Too hard to hold



Lash out first
At all the things we don't like
Or understand



And it's beginning to get to me
That I know more of the stars and sea
Than I do of what's in your head
Barely touching in our cold bed



Are you beginning
to get get my point
That all this fighting with aching joints

It's doing nothing but tire us out
No one knows what this fight's about
The answer phone

the lonely sound of your voice
Frozen in time
I only need
The compass that you gave me
to guide me on

And it's beginning to get to me
That I know more of the stars and sea
Than I do of what's in your head
Barely touching in our cold bed

Are you beginning to get get my point
That all this fighting with aching joints
It's doing nothing but tire us out
No one knows what this fight's about

It's so thrilling but also wrong
Don't have to prove that you are so strong
'Cause I can carry you on my back
After our enemies attack

I tried to tell you before I left
But I was screaming under my breath
You are the only thing that makes sense
Just ignore all this present tense

We need to feel breathless with love
And not collapse under its weight
I'm gasping for the air to fill
My lungs with everything I've lost
We need to feel breathless with love
And not collapse under its weight
I'm gasping for the air to fill
My lungs with everything I've lost-Snow Patrol
Its day 14...


And I’m still wondering when the easy part comes in. I keep saying that I’m not too far away from home, but the thing is, is I am away from home. I guess I can easily say that I do find comfort in the work I’m doing, the painting project I’ve just completed, the photography project that I am researching, my art history and visual culture lectures on museology and galleries, It all makes sense when I’m doing it, everything speaks to me and reminds me that this is right, my pathway is paved, knitted out...

So two weeks in to the 2nd term and well, I have been extremely busy. My mind has been extremely busy as well. It’s very cold now, as winter is starting to settle in. Um, I like the cold.
I have received marks back from my classics assignment my art test and my video project… I am extremely pleased, oh and I must say, the success of the video project bought us a good 70 percent! Yes, And again I apologize for the negativity I had towards it initially.
I completed my painting project, here are a couple of pictures of the work







Next is to do Photography. Uber stressed about that...

Anyway, what else hmmm, well I have not like "been out" since my return, many reasons why, and I will most probably get into all of that in my next post. As for now Id just like to fill in the basics...
So, I have done two protests, the one was to raise awareness for a greener university and local community. and the other was a silence protest 'sexual violence=silence'
Both have touched me in incredible ways.
(as I said, this is just a basic run-through) Um I got a bit of a job, well last night as  a waitress at a  wedding. A girl in the res, her mum has a catering business:) I had so much fun... theres something about weddings that cant stop but hit you with trillions of thoughts....
Ag sorry I need to make this quick, Im pretty dam exhausted... So hopefully this week goes relatively fast, Im going to go  home this weekend and thats a sure thing! I will try my best to balance everything out. I watched some 7de laan today. watched some movies.... Jerusalema was very good!!!!

Most  important thing before I go, I saw a shooting star. This was my first time I had ever seen one. This view and captured memory moment has added drastically to my knowledge of the vast universe and the hope I have within myself.... ~everything is so real

Tomorrow, Ill write again. wish me luck for this week
serious
Good night to all
never lose focus on what keeps you alive, filled with passion and letting the sparkle, the light and the realizaton shine

till soon soon
S.T.A.R



Tuesday, April 06, 2010

a bit of a rush

The whole boy girl thing, or girl girl thing, or even boy boy thing, the single thing, the cheating thing, the play thing, Ah well you know, just the whole relationship thing in general. Wont lie, been through it all, no not really, not the girl girl thing, its not how I roll. But all the other things, I’ve done it, I’ve been dragged through it, thrown into it, subconsciously resisted it, consciously braved it…. Ya well I’ve done it, kissed it, lost myself in it, found myself eventually, given a lot, feared a lot, lost some fear, gained it all back. I’ve been with the stranger, the jock, the rich guy, the poor guy, the player, the clinger, the romantic, the spontaneous, the cheater, the one (or many) that fell in love, the holiday fling, the phone relationship, the sporty guy, the nerdy guy, the uber intelligent yet sweet guy, even the all-rounder. The blond, the brunette, the blue eyed, the brown eyed, the green eyed. The tall, the short, the chubby, the skinny, the six pack, the nice hands, the perfect eyebrows, the friendly, the rude, even the English, Afrikaans, there could have been an Italian in there somewhere, British. Well, ya, I’ve been there. And I too have been the cheater, have been the romantic, have been the one in tears, have broken hearts, have made them fall in love, have said the 3 perfect words(and never meant them most the time) have been the blue eyed brunette girl, artistic, sweet, genuine and uhhhh girlfriend and kiss material… Ya Its all happened… I’ve been there, and have gone through what I now call Disastrous trial and error episodes.


But now, Id like to say I’m all grown up, I've developed and jumped from lame high school teenage crap, to real things, real emotions that I now realise are actually really real, are actually living and are actually harder than anything just to feel…

What does a person do when they are left with excruciating pain being caused by the whole boy girl thing… What do I do, when all the past jumps I’ve made, all the past high school crap has cracked me a tiny bit, and has left me with an acidic taste of a hectic disease and arthritis…

When I was young, and I mean like tiny, with no knowledge of all of this… I would sit for hours planning my husband and my boyfriend, and how romance would be and how I would only kiss one boy and that boy would be my boyfriend and then Id marry him because we loved each other and then we would pray to god and then god would put a baby in my stomach and then id have it and wed look after it till it grew and then wed be happy… you know that whole thing when you are young and everything you say is real and all the wishes you made upon stars would come true, because you made the same wish on wishing chips, wishing bones, throwing a coin in the fountain, eyelashes, dandelions, rainbows …. Well why cant innocence still be heavily ridden in me? Why is it that I get so caught up? And so much so, that every boy that tries to be my wish upon a rainbow I quite prominently demur…

It is as if every single feeling of, well, feelings I could have are not visible from with inside of me… I feel repulsed at the thought of a relationship or of someone caring that much… I feel fear that I could not possibly feel that way, not even an inch, back. I feel fractured. I like the feeling of knowing nothing has to come of it… I like knowing that I can live each day not worrying about a male figure bombarding me with his thoughts, actions, and wants of mine… I like freedom, I like knowing myself, and I like knowing that no one knows me like I do, I like not having to know someone too personally I like being on my own, I like finding out about all sorts of others, but I like being on my own while doing so. BUT,
here’s where it gets complicated… Yes more so than it already is….

I don’t remember, quite honestly, the last time I felt something for someone, like really something for the male figure… I mean, that whole real feeling that I get from my passions… that real, catch my breath sort of feeling… well I do… but by this time you should know who I’m talking about(the no named figure that I have written about previously) ya, the one that made me cry just from his illuminating presence…. That one. That was the last time, and maybe, the first? Ya, I rate the first since my whole high school lame teenage crap. (Although it probably didn’t even happen there)
He gave me the feeling that art does to my soul, he stood and my mind bursted with neon.
But I guess I need to erase his permanentmarkered face…

So, yes, the complicated shit, what am I supposed to do when feelings do not surpass me. What am I supposed to do when all I really want is what I feel.

what do I do when a male figure literally lays down a golden path for me and offers me all he can give. What if he tells me the truth and shows me who he really is just to win me over. What if his mind is a poem, what if he wants me, and will wait for eternity… What then?

What if a male figure wants to cuddle with me, wants to buy me things, and wants to teach me things that I could possibly be interested in. What if he thinks I’m the most beautiful girl in the world and believes I could change him. What if his whole life revolves around me? What then?

What if a male figure with such an intrepid mind wants to teach me about all his age has taught him, wants to shine a red light on his stories his drawings, his silence yet overwhelming kindness. What if he believes I’m the only one that can understand him? What then?

What if a male figure just likes the way I look thinks I’m fun and incredibly attractive. Wants to hold my hand and party with me and show me off to all his friends. What if he enjoys the fact that we have things in common? What if he picks me over all the other girls that want him? What then?

What if a male figure is not interested in me but I rate he could take away the feeling I have for the male figure that so cruelly inhabits my brain. What if I cant get through to him and all we can ever be is class mates that never actually speak. What then?

What if I've tried to be friends with every single boy that I've listed (and 2 others) but it has proven impossible as my theory still runs true of *there’s no such thing as ‘just friends’*

What do I do….

How do I handle this whole boy girl thing. How do I allow my body to react naturally, although this could be natural for me, and all I really should do is allow it… Allow what happens to flow….

then again how do I know?

what are all these feelings?
And how do I get rid of such perfection to allow for new perseverance onto me…

Why do I question it?

does it really bother me this much?

How do you not hurt someone?

How do I hide from the hurt?

How do I find the answers to all of these detrimental questions!!!!

Why do I care so much?

how do I know….

Sunday, April 04, 2010

hold on for one more day

what do you do when you are stuck in this spin...


where do I begin?

Im home, Have been for a week and um 2 days.... shit, that makes 9 days and I havnt achieved anything great. Shit.
well Ive kinda bonded with the family. Great to be back with my beautiful sister again. I saw Locnville, really cool SA musicians, brilliant music, pity they remind me of that....................... ya
been to the beach... eaten far too much.

But now down to some seriousness, I have 6 days left, heres what I need to do

  • take photos of a grave yard
  • paint with ink on fabriano
  • prime my board
  • paint on board with oil
  • paint graveyard scenes
  • cut my hair
  • highlight a peice of hair (if dad allows)
  • buy some clothes (if PE is kind with supplying wearable clothes)
  • jog
will let you know if I complete this.

So today is Easter, favourite favourite holiday and time of year, this one was strange for some reason.... Family was cool and whatever, the van Rensburgs even came (from Joburg) and we went to John Dory's... But still something wasnt right... I think Im starting to feel like my experiences are so vital yet are dust to others... making others sick and to the point of ignorance.... ok ya cant explain.

this is a terrible post and I only am posting because I feel guilty taht I havnt done so in 12 days... And I did have some real profound thoughts that were needed to be discussed but obviously I get too caught up in other things...

anyway I must go, gonna watch some episodes with Milla of the Big Bang theory.
you will be hearing from me soon.

Ill leave you with a couple of photies of the vac so far.
(keep an eye on Facebook as the full album will be there)

blessed be all of you on this day

love
love
*

...followers